About Us

St. James Lutheran Church (originally known as St. Jakobi Lutheran) was organized in Llano on October 2, 1897. It has been an active part of the community of Llano throughout is history.

Its first church building was constructed in 1910. The present church was dedicated in 1958, the parsonage was dedicated in 1963 and Schorlemmer Hall in 2009. St James Lutheran was part of the Texas District of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Iowa and Other States which became the American Lutheran Church in 1930 and The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America in 1988. St James Lutheran became a part of the North American Lutheran Church in 2013

Over they years St James has been served by 28 pastors, the Rev’d Ralph W Reitmeyer is the current pastor

The Rev’d Ralph W. Reitmeyer STS

Pastor Reitmeyer is a Graduate of the University of Houston – Clear Lake (B.A.)
and Trinity Lutheran Seminary (M.Div) in Columbus, Ohio. He was ordained in 1987 at Zion Lutheran Church in Athens, New York. He trained as a Spiritual Director at Oblate School of Theology in San Antonio, Texas. He is a member of the Society of the Holy Trinity (STS) to which he subscribed in 2006. He also serves as Dean of the Southwest Texas Mission District of the NALC.

He is married to Ruth and they has two adult children, and five grandchildren


St James has an active Bible study group that meets at 9:00 on Sundays in the pastor’s office in Schorlemmer Hall

During the season of Lent we gather for dinner and Evening Prayer on Wednesday.

We Celebrate the Lord’s Supper on the 1st 3rd and 5th and Festival Sundays

The congregation gathers regularly for fellowship potluck dinners after worship on Sundays.